Loving Me

Can I love the shield and spears that stand for me?
Can I love the black that is on my skin?
Can I love the tight curls in my kink?
Can I love the gap between my teeth?

Can I love the sapphires that make me see?
Can I love the cushioning of my thick lips?
Can I love the soft mounting between my cheeks?
Can I love the tongue that speaks for me?

I am beautiful
I am sweet
I am the brightness of the sun in the East
From the pyramids of Egypt
To the deltas of caped seas
My bloodline intercepts with lineages of royalty

And he who loves not
Or she who accepts not
Whosoever denies this gem God begot
Is impoverished and lost
For power they have not
Over legacies and destinies beset in my soul

A tree can only sway so far from its roots
In mine I stand tall
Encoring legends of my soil

__

Image from everydayfeminism.com

Leave a Reply

